Embassy of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar London
Embassy of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar , LondonEmbassy of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar , LondonEmbassy of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar , LondonEmbassy of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar , London

About Myanmar

The land was also known as Suvannabhumi, Golden Land in ancient time, and today, with its rich natural resources and diversity of attractions, it still deserves to be called the Golden Land. With a land area of 676,577 sq.km. Myanmar is the largest country in the Southeast Asia region, bounded by mountain complex in the north, east and west, and enclosed by the Andaman Sea and the Bya of Bengal in the south, southwest, and west. Myanmar shares borders with Bangladesh, India, China, Laos and Thailand. Situated between latitudes 9 degree 30' N and 28 degree 30' N and between longitudes 92 degree 10' E and 101 degree 10' E, the country stertches 2090 km north to south, and 925 km east to west and has a varied to photography which includes islands and lakes, extehsive riceplains and river valleys, forested hills and mountains. It has a 2,832 km long coastline on the Indian Ocean. Myanmar's highest mountains, situated in the far north, include the Hkakabo Razi, the tallest peak both locally and in the region, which rises 5,881 km above sea level. The two other mountain systems : a group of low mountains called the Rakhine Yoma stands in the west, forming a border with the Indian Subcontient, and the hilly Shan Plateau separates Myanmar from China, Laos and Thailand. The central lowland region of Myanmar consists of the Ayeyawaddy and Sittaung river valleys. Ayeyarwaddy is the longest river in the country running for 2,010 km from the northern region to the Bay of Bengal, and serves as the principal transportation route and as the main source of water supply for the central dry zone.


There are 135 national races in Myanmar by official count. The Bamar is the majority group, comprising about 65 percent of the more than 60 million population. The other main groups are the Shan, Kachin, Chin, Kaya, Kayin, Mon and Rakhine with various sub groups that often speak different languages. Each national race group has its own culture, and they preserve their traditions and customs.      

More Detail : 


Monday 25, March, 2019 Myanmar Food in London

Latest Updates

Monday 22, April, 2019 2nd European Buddhist Youth Forum